The Jon Quam Scholarship

The Jon Quam Scholarship

Categories: Uncategorized

Jon QuamThe National Teacher of the Year Program is the oldest and most prestigious national honors program to focus public attention on excellence in teaching. The Washington-based program, sponsored by the Chief State School Officers (CCSO), began in 1952. In 1990, CCSSO expanded the National Teacher of the Year program to acknowledge and engage State Teachers of the Year (STOYs) through a variety of activities, grants and conferences that build their skills, impact and recognition.

Jon Quam joined CCSSO in 1988 as Director of the School/College Collaboration Project. The following year, he assumed the duties of Director of the National Teacher of the Year Program and Director of Arts Education Projects. Since 1996, Jon’s professional time had been devoted exclusively to building and serving the National Teacher of the Year Program. He has dedicated his career to ensuring that State Teachers of the Year have the training they need to help make meaningful contributions to the profession in the areas of policy, practice and advocacy at the state and national levels.

To honor Jon Quam’s persistent dedication to the State Teacher of the Year Program, the Board of Directors of the National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY) has agreed to fund a $1,000 annual scholarship in his name. The funds will be used to offset the cost of a STOY or Finalist attending the NNSTOY National Conference.

The recipient of the Jon Quam Scholarship will be determined annually through a random drawing of conference registrants. To receive the scholarship, a member must be registered for the national conference prior to the date of the drawing. Members will be notified of the drawing (and the scholarship winner) each year.


© 2024 NNSTOY, All Rights Reserved
Website by David Taylor Design | NJ Website Design Company